Week 8 NFL Picks To Pound with Bud deBurgh

Alright boobs. After a 3-0 Week 6, the Kid took a beating missing all 3 of my preferred bets last week. Shit happens, if I was right all the time I wouldn’t be writing this blog while my boss is in a meeting, nawmean?

Feeling good about Week 8, ready to bounce back. Here are my favorite picks of the week:

Detroit (+3.5) vs KC

London game! The conversion rate is 1.55 USD/GBP for all the readers heading across the pond to catch this barn-burner in person.

KC coming off a win vs a Big Ben-less Steelers may have people thinking they are good, but they most certainly are not.

Simply put, both teams suck and neither has a home field advantage. Detroit could potentially be in shambles after firing OC Joe Lombardi this week, but I think this will allow for Stafford to air the ball out to Calvin/Tate/Ebron and company. KC has issues stopping the pass; I like Detroit to win and cover in a sloppy game.

Arizona (-6) at Cleveland

If you read last weeks preview you know that I was all in on the Cardinals giving nine points to Baltimore. Arizona won that game handily and was in position to cover before allowing the Ravens through the backdoor with a late touchdown. I’m still high on the Cards.

I also picked Cleveland last week to keep it close vs STL, but they got beat down. I expect the Browns to catch another butt-whooping. AZ will move the ball at will and force turnovers en route to a blowout win.

Minnesota (essentially between -1 and +1 so call it a pick ’em) at Chicago

The Vikings are 4-2, yet no one seems to notice. Since a weird Week 1 Monday Night game, they have gone 4-1 with double digit wins over Detroit (twice) and San Diego, and a 6 point victory versus the Chiefs.

Chicago is better than most expected, but they still have some bad losses. Last week’s never-ending slopfest against the Lions is the most recent example.

The emergence of Stefon Diggs gives Teddy Bridgewater a weapon (not named Mike Wallace) to spread the field. In addition to those two wideouts and AP, Minnesota has a very stout defense and a sharp coach in Mike Zimmer.

I fully expect the Vikings to slide into the playoffs as a wild card team. Look for Minnesota to win on Sunday.

