Study: Mother Theresa Talked the Talk, Didn’t Walk the Walk

Mother-Teresa

Huff Post – A new study by Canadian academics says Mother Teresa was a product of hype who housed the poor and sick in shoddy conditions, despite her access to a fortune.

The Times of India, reporting on the controversial essay, wrote that the authors asserted Mother Teresa saw beauty in the downtrodden’s suffering and was far more willing to pray for them than provide practical medical care. Meanwhile, researchers say, the Vatican engaged in a PR ploy as it threw aside concerns about her suspicious financial dealings and contacts to forgo the five-year waiting period to beatify her.

I’m real torn on this topic.  Born and raised Roman Catholic, I went to Catholic school all the way through 12th grade in Chicago.  But my whole life, I never bought in.  I’m skeptical of all religions, not just Catholicism.  Sure, Catholic school was much better than going to public school in the ‘hood, but Religion was always the class that puzzled me. The stories were interesting but that’s all they were to me, just stories.

In elementary school Mother Teresa was shoved down our throats. My school held assemblies and prayer services for her the closer she got to death and the clearer it became that she had Sainthood locked up.  She was obviously a great woman.  It takes an extraordinary sense of selflessness and compassion to devote your life to serving others the way Mother Teresa did. That’s not debatable.  But with that said, even as a youngster I was skeptical.

I’ve never known how much money Mz. T was worth or what exactly she did for the less fortunate, I just knew that she seemed to be doing more than most by bringing attention to their issues and trying to help the cause. But skepticism was always in the back of my mind because of every single story in the Bible.  Whether it’s the Torah or the New Testament, any independent thinker can tell that nearly every story was embellished.  I’m not here to discuss why religion does this. That’s another conversation.  I’m just saying that I never bought in to St. Patrick driving the snakes out of Ireland, Thomas Aquinas communicating with animals, or St. Michael kicking the Lucifer out of Heaven.  The list goes on and on. Every saint story (even the J-Dawg himself) I’ve ever heard had some obvious bullshit component to it.

Thus, while growing up learning how amazing Mother Teresa was every day hearing how she was a surefire lock for Sainthood, I just knew something was fishy.  I learned at a young age that everybody has a few skeletons in their closet.  No matter if it’s Marshall’s Momma or Mother Teresa, nobody’s different.  When a group puts so much effort into publicizing the greatness of something, there’s usually something to hide.  This holds true in any arena, but especially with an ancient religious organization like the Catholic Church.  The Vatican has had countless black eyes over the years. They were desperate for a modern era cult figure that could unify the masses.  There’s no denying that Mother Theresa was an amazing woman and a better human than 99.9% of us.  She’ll probably palm my face at the Golden Gates and dick-punt me to Purgatory.  But there’s no doubt in my mind that the Vatican did everything they could to make her look pristine.  If that meant hiding a few million bucks that should have been spent on AIDS patients medical bills, then so be it. It’s all in the game, baby.

ps – I got no problem watching this M.T. flick:

Mother Teresa website image How to Lose Friends Alienate People

Leave a Reply

