Chicago Police Allowed to Work ‘Half-Drunk’

Chicgao Police Allowed to Work ‘Half-Drunk’

So, NBC reports that many police departments in the surrounding Chicago suburbs have clauses in their contracts that allow officers to work as long as they are under the state legal limit for a blood alcohol level of .08.  Some departments have stricter limits, only up to .05.

Normally, I’ve got no problem with this.  The legal limit of .08 is not much. We all know this. Like three beers tops.  And just like many people out there, I’ve driven a car when I was well over this limit and felt fine about it.  It’s stupid, sure, but I didn’t feel bad about it.  I’ve also been lit up at work a few times, as I’m sure many bored Americans working desk jobs have been.  I have no qualms with that.

But when it comes to cops, that’s a different story for me.  I have family members that are police, a couple of them love the sauce.  I know how this works.  I’m fine with cops getting lit up after work and getting out of DUIs. They protect and serve all day, they deserve a ‘get out of jail free’ card from time to time.  And I know that guys have a couple beers while killing time on the job.  I just choose to try to ignore that.

Now, I’m not usually much of a prude, but personally I don’t like the idea of some douchebag suburban cop with three beers under his belt feeling all high and mighty. The cops in most of these suburbs have dogshit to do most of the time anyway, the last thing we need is some jackass writing more bogus traffic tickets and getting aggressive with high school kids hanging out at the park because he’s a half-drunk hardo. Not too mention if some real trouble actually does pop up in Barrington, or somewhere else with nothing to do, and one of these scrubs gets a little trigger happy. Then there’s an actual problem. A big part of me doesn’t want to care about this at all because it really isn’t much of a story. Maybe I just don’t like suburban police because, well, why would I? Join a real department. But in my opinion, cops should wait to get off the clock before they grab a bottle and drive around. I’m cool with that.

-MF

Leave a Reply

